Select Page
Piano Superstar Yuja Wang + Tchaikovsky’s Swan Lake and Romeo & Juliet

Tickets to individual concerts go on sale Thursday, August 1. Secure your seats now by becoming a subscriber today! Click here for more info.

Eric Jacobsen, conductor
Yuja Wang, piano

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Selections from Swan Lake
Igor Stravinsky: Movements for Piano and Orchestra
Igor Stravinsky: Concerto for Piano and Wind Instruments
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Romeo and Juliet Overture-Fantasy
Igor Stravinsky: Capriccio for Piano and Orchestra

Pianist Yuja Wang is one of the most celebrated pianists performing today. Witness her charismatic artistry and virtuosity in this special one-night-only performance with Eric Jacobsen and the Virginia Symphony Orchestra featuring Stravinsky’s exhilarating works for piano and orchestra. These effervescent concertos are the perfect way to experience the infectious pianism that keeps her in demand all over the world. They’re paired with two of the most stunning and well known pieces of music ever written, composed by the King of Melody himself, Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky.

Eric Jacobsen serves as the Virginia Symphony Orchestra’s twelfth Music Director, a position he’s held since 2021. He is also artistic director and co-founder of The Knights, the uniquely adventurous NYC-based chamber orchestra, and Music Director of the Orlando Philharmonic. In addition to conducting, Eric is a dedicated chamber musician (cello) and is a member of Yo-Yo Ma’s Silk Road Ensemble.

Yuja Wang is a Grammy Award-winning pianist whose many awards and recognitions include 2017 Musical America’s Artist of the Year, 2010 Avery Fisher Career Grant, and 2006 Gilmore Young Artist Award, among many others. During the 23/24 season she performed an international recital tour along with appearing as soloist with the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Rotterdam Philharmonic, The National Symphony Orchestra, Chicago Symphony Orchestra, The Berlin Philharmonic, The Boston Symphony Orchestra, The Cleveland Orchestra, The Detroit Symphony Orchestra, and The Minnesota Orchestra.

Co-presented with the Ferguson Center for the Arts in recognition of its 20th Anniversary Season.