Select Page
Rachmaninoff’s Second Symphony

Tickets to individual concerts go on sale Thursday, August 1. Secure your seats now by becoming a subscriber today! Click here for more info.

Thomas Wilkins, conductor
Michelle Cann, piano

Maurice Ravel: Le Tombeau de Couperin
Franz Liszt: Piano Concerto No. 1
Sergei Rachmaninoff: Symphony No. 2

Rachmaninoff’s sweepingly romantic Second Symphony under the baton of VSO Principal Guest Conductor Thomas Wilkins will enchant you with its heartfelt melodies. Liszt’s First Piano Concerto is a dazzling vehicle to highlight the endless talents of accomplished pianist Michelle Cann.

Thomas Wilkins is an internationally renowned conductor and Norfolk native who was named the Virginia Symphony Orchestra’s first-ever Principal Guest Conductor in 2021. He is Principal Conductor of the Hollywood Bowl Orchestra; the Boston Symphony’s Artistic Advisor, Education and Community Engagement; and holds Indiana University’s Henry A. Upper Chair of Orchestral Conducting.

Michelle Cann is an acclaimed pianist who received the 2022 Sphinx Medal of Excellence, the Cleveland Institute of Music’s 2022 Alumni Achievement Award, and the 2022 Andrew Wolf Chamber Music Award. She made her debut with the Philadelphia Orchestra in 2021 and has recently performed concertos with The Cleveland Orchestra, the National Symphony Orchestra, the Orquestra Sinfônica Municipal de São Paulo, the Los Angeles Philharmonic, and the symphony orchestras of Atlanta, Baltimore, and Cincinnati.