Friday, April 23, 2021 | Ferguson Center for the Arts, Newport News | 7:30PM
Saturday, April 24, 2021 | Chrysler Hall, Norfolk | 7:30PM

After his first electrifying performances with the orchestra last fall, superstar pianist “Sasha” Gavrylyuk was immediately reengaged to perform the ultimate
Romantic piano blockbuster, Tchaikovsky’s luscious First Piano Concerto. The composer’s Symphony No. 4, a meticulously structured meditation on fate in four movements, follows with some of the most explosive brass and wind moments – a fitting finale to our celebratory season that will bring you to your feet! Former VSO Assistant Conductor “Z” Kuwahara returns from his current post at Russia’s famed Marinsky Theatre to lead the orchestra.

Shizuo “Z” Kuwahara, conductor
Alexander Gavrylyuk, piano

Tchaikovsky: Waltz from “Sleeping Beauty”
: Piano Concerto No. 1
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 4

Mr. Gavrylyuk’s performance is being underwritten by Mrs. Oriana McKinnon.

from to
Scheduled ical Google outlook 2019-20 Season 2020-21 Classics 2020-21 Season Chrysler Hall | Norfolk Classics Ferguson Center for the Arts | Newport News