Select Page

Tchaikovsky 6: The Story Behind the Music

In this intimate program, join Eric Jacobsen as he tells us the story behind the music of Tchaikovsky’s final completed symphony, full of passion and emotion. Excerpts from the work will illustrate a narrative that brings the music to life, setting the stage for a complete performance of Tchaikovsky 6 after intermission.

Eric Jacobsen, conductor
Curtis Stewart, violin

Curtis Stewart, Andrew Roitstein, and Hamilton Berry: 3 Selections from Negro Melodies for Violin and String Orchestra
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6

Free benefit with every ticket:
Behind the Notes with Eric Jacobsen, Curtis Stewart, and Dr. William Tortolano!

Behind the Notes is a unique opportunity to hear Eric Jacobsen and special guests provide insights to better understand and appreciate the concert program. Learn more about the journey of the Orchestra and artists working to make the performance come together. Join us one hour before the performance in the concert hall!


WHRO Public Media
Tchaikovsky No. 6
January 19, 2024
January 20, 2024